Professor of Business Practice
Stephen W. NASON
Professor of Business Practice
Stephen W. NASON

Academic Qualifications

  • Ph.D. University of Southern California, Management and Organization
  • M.A. Michigan State University, Anthropology
  • B.S. University of Texas at Austin, Anthropology

Academic And Professional Experience

  • The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, School of Business and Management, Director, World Bachelor of Business Program, July 2013 - present.

  • The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Department of Management, Professor of Business Practice, since 2012, Adjunct Associate Professor, 2004-2011, Visiting Scholar, 2002 - 2004, Assistant Professor, 1995 - 2002.

  • University of Southern California, Lecturer of Management and Organizations, 1993-1995.

Faculty Profile

Prof. Nason has taught at The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology since 1995. He is a faculty member in the Department of Management and the Co-director of LABU (Language-Business Case Program). Prof. Nason has taught in a wide range UG and post graduate programs at HKUST, including the full time, part time, executive, and company specific MBA programs. Most of his teaching involves either negotiations or decision making. He was recently awarded the Michael G. Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching (2012) and HKUST Great Minds (2012). Prof. Nason has worked with a variety of organizations, including Samsung Electronics, Cisco, Motorola, and the Health Care forum.

Funded Projects

Teaching Grants
  • Education and Generative Artificial Intelligence (EDGE-AI) Fund. 2024. Solving Problems with Generative AI as your Wingman: Developing Experiential Exercises, Negotiations, and Cases that Use Generative AI to Foster Critical Thinking when Addressing Complex Business Problems that are Challenging, with Incomplete Information, and Human Emotions. HK$241,200 with T. Bradford Bitterly.

Honors And Awards

  • 2024. Winner, Franklin Prize for MBA Non-Required Teaching

  • 2018. Winner, Franklin Prize for MBA Non-Required Teaching

  • 2014. Winner, Franklin Prize for core MBA Teaching